Candlelighters

a place for women who cherish the Torah

What If…?

by sweet~pea

Each person’s life tells a story.  With every passing day, new pages are added.  I recently had the privilege of  being a counselor at a camp for 13-16 year old girls.  So many of these girl’s stories are laden with sorrow, pain, anger and bitterness.  Most of them experience these feelings at the hand of family members… people who should be their closest supporters.  My heart breaks every time I hear them tell of their abusive fathers, hateful siblings, uncaring mothers and disloyal friends.  Home is not a place of comfort, but of fear.  They are experiencing things no one should have to endure, especially not at their age.  This leaves me broken for them, and yet thankful for my own loving family.  I don’t know why G-d chose to give me the blessings He has, but I am so thankful.  It also leaves me with this thought:

“What would our families, country and world look like if we were governed by the laws G-d’s given in His Word about how we are to treat others?  What could be different about these girl’s lives?”

4 Comments»

  Mary Lynn Anderson wrote @

I agree with you, the years of growing up should be time of safety and joy. We should all be able to talk to others with kindness and love. Care should be taken with parents for their children to bless them and not to curse them.

  JGIG wrote @

Repentance

  torahgirl wrote @

I think our families would be stronger, sweet~pea. G-d designed the family unit to be cohesive. And I suspect there would be less crime, since G-d’s system of retribution is severe. “An eye for an eye and tooth for a tooth” doesn’t result in a bunch of blind and toothless people – on the contrary, it discourages crime. The system of community and justice described in Torah is what we call a theocracy – government centered around HaShem. The Torah prescribes kindness to others, care for widows & poor people, watching out for each other – a society based on love, but not love for people, not simply philanthrophy – that’s not enough. Our love for HaShem is the foundation for any charitable action. To me this makes perfect sense – you can be a “good person” for a while using your own power, but eventually you’ll run out of patience, love, or both. Our goal is to be funnels (channels) for G-d’s love. Even if only a few people around the girls you mentioned acted this way, I am positive their lives would be different.

=)

  eshetkayil wrote @

G-d’s system, in my opinion, encouraged love for each other. It’s all about looking out for your neighbors, even before you look out for yourself. There’s no place for selfishness, hurt, or hate. When one person stepped out of line, the entire community was there to deal with it – everyone seemed to be on the same page.

I think that in a society like that, no one would ever feel abandoned, alone, or neglected. No one would ever be abused, emotionally or physically. G-d’s instructions are founded on love – and our best interest. I long for Messianic days, when Messiah Himself will rule!

This was a very thought-provoking post, sweet~pea. Good work!


Leave a comment