Candlelighters

a place for women who cherish the Torah

Havdalah Halachah

by torahgirl

When does Shabbat end? Is it when the sun goes down? When you can see three stars? The moment the havdalah candle is extinguished? This is a tricky question. But does it matter exactly when Shabbat ends? Is it enough to say “Saturday night”?

Determining your halachah regarding the conclusion of Shabbat is sometimes necessary, especially when a social schedule is involved. For instance, when can we meet friends at a restaurant Saturday evening? Maybe we could have dinner technically “during” Shabbat, because after all we won’t pay for it until long afterward. Or could we leave our house before Shabbat and arrive at the restaurant around havdalah time? Or do we have to wait until after havdalah to even leave our house… since we leave the house other times on Shabbat, that shouldn’t be an issue, right?

{Side note: is it right to be seen in a place of commerce on Shabbat? What about taking a casual stroll through the mall? Would it be alright to see a movie if your friend is paying for it?}

There has to be a consistent guideline. If you wait for each situation to come along, the result will be a haphazard Shabbat practice and no clear testimony to others.

The question of ending Shabbat downshifts in priority when you change the focus of Saturday night. Where should the focus be? The sages talk about a particular feeling of sadness after minchah prayers as the Sabbath slowly begins to depart. If we are savoring each moment of the seventh day, we’ll want to stretch it out as long as possible – delaying the start the “work week,” clinging to the inherent peace of Shabbat instead of asking “how soon can I leave?” or “when is it over?”

I love the concept of being so deep in Torah study that you truly don’t want to see the Sabbath leave and might go far beyond the scheduled havdalah time. There’s a big difference between exclaiming “finally!” or “already?” during havdalah. Which response do you normally have?

=)

4 Comments»

  Lina wrote @

This is something I battle with each Shabbat. Because my family does not observe Torah, they usually like to do all their shopping and household chores on this day, and then end it by eating out or walking around town. I, however, want to treat this day as holy because that is what HaShem commanded. When my mom brings home the groceries, I grieve internally, because I know I must eat, but I know that YHWH comes first. But I also know that He honors my devotion to His Word, and that He understands my difficult situation.

The times when my parents want us to go out for dinner Saturday evening, I usually agree to this, because by the time we get to the restaurant the sun is almost down.

I do what I can, all the while hoping that one day my situation will change 🙂

  Mary Lynn Anderson wrote @

We have to leave the house to go to Torah studies and to meet with our fellowship. I have learned that you are not suppose to buy or sale on the Sabbath. I have considered, if you have some one else paying in a restaurant you are still taking part of disobeying; the not selling or buying on Shabbat. Tell me if I am wrong? I am learning all the time some thing new.

  torahgirl wrote @

Lina – it’s interesting to hear about your situation, because we just had a discussion Tuesday night about keeping Torah when your parents do not agree. One of the girls raised this question, and we talked about what would be the right thing to do. After all, parents are authorities placed by HaShem, and it doesn’t seem like rebellion could ever please G-d… and obeying the mitzvot is how we show our love for Him. That is a tough place to be. I understand that as far as Shabbat goes, there is not much more you could do as a daughter living in your parents’ home. G-d sees the heart, and He knows when we sincerely desire to please Him. I pray that the path of Torah practice will only grow smoother for you as life goes on.

=)

Mary – absolutely, we leave our house on Shabbat occasionally as well. We have not reached the Orthodox place of not driving on Shabbat. One of my friends pointed out that the very definition of a “holy convocation” is that we would be gathering to worship and fellowship together on the seventh day, so driving to do so isn’t a problem in my mind. I agree that being in a place of commerce, even when someone else is spending money for you, is not keeping the Sabbath day holy as we should. Additionally, a restaurant is pretty much the epitome of “our own pleasure” which is what we turn from on Shabbat. Would you agree?

=)

  eshetkayil wrote @

Sometimes it’s hard for me to get into that Shabbat mindset. I’m a planner, so my mind is constantly on the future. It’s difficult to focus on the present and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the Sabbath, without, in the back of my mind, counting the hours. That’s something I’m working on right now. -sigh-

But I absolutely agree with your assessment of the fluctuating Shabbat hours! I don’t think it’s right to be seen in any place of business – whether it’s a restaurant or the mall – before the Sabbath as ended. What kind of message do you want to send, anyway?! A park or something? My thinking is that it’s ok…but I haven’t researched what the sages say. 😉


Leave a comment