Candlelighters

a place for women who cherish the Torah

Countdown: The Finale

by eshetkayil

One of the things I love most about our G-d is that He encourages our creativity. Very often, He will give a generic command, and allow us to shape and define what it will look like in our own lives. Let me give you an example: Shabbat. G-d gave us parameters for Shabbat. He told us not to light fires, not to work, not to transact business – just rest. What does Shabbat look like in the life of a believer? It depends on the believer. And the community. And the location. Do you see my point?

So that brings me to the subject at hand: Shavu’ot. We have been faithfully counting the Omer for 49 days, waiting for Shavu’ot to finally arrive. This is the first year I have counted the Omer every single day. That may surprise you, as our family has been Torah-observant for seven years. But it’s so easy to forget to count! And don’t misunderstand – I’m not patting my own back here. There are two reasons why counting the Omer every day became a reality this year: Six Constant Mitzvos and Greg Upham. The first is a book we ordered shortly before we started counting (available from Artscoll.com here), and read every morning as we counted the days. It kept us on track, gave us new insight into the world of Judaism and its core beliefs, and taught us how to constantly keep these six commandments. I highly recommend the book, and cannot wait to read it again next year. Word to the wise: it sold out during the count, so if you want one – and you want to be prepared – order now. 😉 The second reason is Mr. Upham. Mr. Upham is a member of our congregation who faithfully sent out midrash-style emails every morning of the Omer count, focusing on different aspects of our walk and faith throughout the season. His emails were always interesting and encouraging, and certainly a reminder to count each day.

Enough about the counting of the Omer, though! Finally, we reached Shavu’ot. This year, our family attended a party. Usually, we host one ourselves, but this year, it was such a privilege to be in another family’s home, celebrating with them and our community. The festivities began around 7:00pm, and we were all prepared to spend the entire night studying Torah together. Traditionally, that’s what is done on Shavu’ot. And why not? G-d planned it perfectly – we get a Sabbath the next day! 😀

The studying portion of the evening started with the reading of the giving of the Ten Words (Ten Commandments, in the Christian vernacular) on Mount Sinai. This is a traditional reading for Shavu’ot, since we are celebrating the giving of the Torah.

Our host then gave an excellent review on the Ten Words and how they parallel sections of the Sh’ma, which we recite every morning. This was absolutely fascinating. One of my favorites was “You shall not murder”, paralleled with teaching our children the commandments. If we do not teach our children diligently, it is as if we have spiritually murdered them. So says the Vilna Gaon. The subject was intriguing. Those rabbis and sages have thought of everything.

It is also traditional to read the book of Ruth on Shavu’ot. Unbelievably enough, it took us two hours to get through those four chapters. The discussion blossomed and everyone had something to add, or a new thought to ponder. I’ve decided that Ruth is not only one of my favorite books, but also one of my favorite historical characters. Ruth’s statement to Naomi sends chills up my spine and warms my heart:

“Do not urge me to leave you or turn back from following you; for where you go, I will go, and where you lodge, I will lodge. Your people will be my people, and your G-d, my G-d. Where you die, I will die, and there I will be buried. Thus may the L-RD do to me, and worse, if anything but death parts you and me.” – Ruth 1:16-17

Isn’t this our relationship to G-d people? Have we not also chosen to be a part of them? To be grafted in, as there is no salvation apart from the Jews? I love the strength behind Ruth’s words. Even more, I love that she didn’t just say all that – she did exactly what she was promising.

Suffice it to say that our evening was an amazing amount of fun mixed with deep learning and discussion. Definitely one of the best Shavu’ot celebrations of which I’ve ever been a part. Not only that, but we were up and out studying until 2:00am!! That’s the longest I’ve ever made it, and I’m already looking forward to lasting longer next year. <grin>

Now back to my comment about G-d and our creativity. This is just one way to celebrate – every community will be a little different! Now it’s your turn: what did you do for Shavu’ot? Don’t be shy. Let’s hear it. I know many of you were at the same party as myself – but we each spent our time differently and saw different things. Share your experience!

No comments yet»

Leave a comment